WHO logo

WHO home page

WHO pages only
All the Web

This year's programme of WHO lectures

oldest WHO news

next oldest WHO news

barely old at all WHO news

WHO archive catalogue

the WHO's 'virtual museum'

YouTube videos about Wolds history

Local history articles

Burton on the Wolds




Six Hills

Walton on the Wolds

Willoughby on the Wolds


Wymeswold Airfield

Walton on the Wolds records

early C17th Wymeswold constable's accounts

Wymeswold census returns 1841 to 1901

Wymeswold parish registers 1560 onwards

Wymeswold marriage registers 1560 to 1916

Wymeswold Village Design Statement 2002

WHO publications available as free PDFs

The Wolds Historian 2004–2008

2000 Years of the Wolds

A walk Around Wymeswold

Wymeswold fieldwalking report 1993

In addition the WHO has digitised versions of:

  • George Farnham's unpublished MS of notes about Wymeswold medieval history (akin to a 1920s update of Nichols)
  • Enclosure Award and later maps plus assorted terriers held in the archive of Trinity College Cambridge
  • Marshall Brown's pharmaceutical journal 1869
  • Wymeswold school log books 1875–1982
  • Wymeswold Parochial Charities minutes 1880–1930
  • photographs taken by Philip Brown between 1890s and 1930s
  • Sidney Pell Potter's A History of Wymeswold 1915
  • Lily Brown's diary 1916
  • Church Council Minute Book for St Mary's, Wymeswold 1932–1955
  • WI survey of Wymeswold gravestones (St Mary's; Baptist chapel; Methodist chapel; 'The Quakers') 1981–2
  • Rempstone Steam Fair programme 1983
Email bobtrubs@indigogroup.co.uk to discuss access to these (e.g. via memory stick or ZIP file).

This website does not gather or store any visitor information.

Where are the Leicestershire Wolds?

For those not local to the Leicestershire Wolds the following maps may help.

Leicestershire is a roughly heart-shaped county in the middle of England. The Wolds are in the 'cleft' of the heart.

The Leicestershire Wolds occupy an approximately circular plateau straddling the Leicestershire-Nottinghamshire border. West to east they extend for nearly fifteen miles and cover an area a little greater than a hundred square miles. Apart from Willoughby on the Wolds all the parishes are in Leicestershire.

The surface geology is predominately glacial tills ('boulder clay'). The south-eastern parishes drain into the River Wreake, a tributary of the River Soar, while the western parishes drain more directly into the Soar (which forms the western-most boundary of Prestwold, Burton and Walton parishes).

Reading clockwise from top right the parishes are:

  • Old Dalby (OD)
  • Grimston (Gr)
  • Ragdale (Ra)
  • Thrussington (Th)
  • Seagrave (Se)
  • Walton on the Wolds (Wa)
  • Burton on the Wolds (Bu)
  • Prestwold (Pr)
  • Hoton (Ho)
  • Wymeswold (Wy)
  • Willoughby on the Wolds (Wi)
Most of the parishes are configured like 'slices of pie', meeting at Six Hills. Until 1974 boundary changes Willoughby parish also extended to Six Hills. There are no hills at Six Hills – the name is a corruption of Seggs Hill, probably a reference to a since-levelled Anglo-Saxon moot mound or prehistoric burial mound.

The Fosse Way (the Roman road running from Dorset to Lincoln via Cirencester and Leicester) bisects the Wolds parishes, heading north to Newark. Most of the parishes to the east have names with Scandinavian elements, suggesting considerable Viking settlement in the later ninth century. The parishes to the west mostly do not have Scandinavian elements (Willoughby is an exception) suggesting that the Fosse Way became a boundary during the Anglo-Saxon era. This is still the boundary between administrative districts (currently Charnwood Borough Council and Melton District Council; historically Goscote Hundred and Framland Hundred).

A second, more minor, Roman road (running from Barrow on Soar to Eastwell) obliquely crosses the Fosse Way at Six Hills. The site of Vernemetum, a Roman small town, is further north, close to the tripoint of Willoughby, Wymeswold and Old Dalby parish boundaries.

The Wolds Historical Organisation has members from the villages to the west of the Fosse Way. In the eastern half Thrussington currently has a long-established local history society and a heritage group formed in Old Dalby around 2020.

WHO home page